Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative

The Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative (RGGI), an initiative of the Northeast and Mid-Atlantic U.S. states, has enabled the implementation of a mandatory cap-and-trade program for greenhouse gas emissions. The RGGI has been active since January 1, 2009.

The cap-and-trade program is aimed at limiting CO2 emissions generated by thermal power plants in the region and then reducing these emissions by 10%, compared with their 2009 level, by 2018.

The RGGI member states are as follows:

  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • New Hampshire
  • New York
  • Rhode Island
  • Vermont
Back to list

Last update: 2019-04-18 10:12:15 AM