Francophone Africa

Africa occupies a land area of 30 millions km2 and has approximately 1.2 trillion habitants. It is divided into 54 independent states.

Africa has abundant natural and human resources. However, it remains one of the world's most disadvantaged regions. Approximately one-third of the world's people living in extreme poverty are in Sub-Saharan Africa.

A total of 31 African countries are members of the International Organization of La Francophonie (OIF). Of these 31 countries, 20 are on the UN's list of the least developed countries, which includes the least developed countries in socio-economic terms with the lowest human development indices. Due to their vulnerability, these countries receive special attention from the international community.

Francophone Africa is a priority area of solidarity for Québec since both regions are part of the international francophone community. In addition to contributing to francophone Africa via the OIF, the Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie du Québec (MRIF) devotes approximately 40 % of the combined budgets of its international solidarity programs to countries in francophone Africa.

Since its international solidarity programs were created in 1995, the MRIF has been involved in initiatives in 29 African countries, primarily in West Africa.

Since 1995

Québec International Development Program (PQDI) and Québec Without Borders (QWB):

  • $41.2 million in financial commitments
  • 3,083 Quebecers have completed internships in Africa
  • 204 Africans have completed reciprocal internships in Québec

The primary beneficiary countries are (PQDI and QWB combined):

  • Mali: $9.8 million
  • Burkina Faso: $7.6 million
  • Senegal: $6.5 million

List of projects

To view the list of projects completed or underway with financial support from the MRI:

Last update: 2019-04-18 10:11:50 AM