Kingdom of Morocco

Territoire du Maroc.

Morocco is an important partner for Québec because of the long-standing bilateral, cooperative, and immigration relations that unite them. Morocco features regularly in the list of the five countries that send the most immigrants to Québec, which is home to a large Moroccan community estimated at 100,000.

The fifth largest economy on the African continent, Morocco joined the World Trade Organization in 1995. Later in the same year, it signed free trade agreements with the European Union, and then with the four European Free Trade Association countries in 1997. The free trade agreement signed with the United States in 2004 was the first of its kind negotiated by Washington with an African country.

Morocco rejoined the African Union on January 30, 2017. Five months later, the Economic Community of West African States agreed in principle to Morocco’s application for accession. Morocco is also a part of the Greater Arab Free Trade Area and is home to one of the five offices of the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa.

Imminent opening of a Québec representation

The Government of Québec has expressed its desire to strengthen bilateral relations with Morocco, notably by opening a representation in Rabat. Discussions are ongoing with Moroccan authorities with a view to making this happen.

Morocco has adopted a comprehensive and integrated development strategy based on action plans developed for numerous sectors of the economy. These plans coincide with Québec’s priorities and will benefit from Québec expertise in sectors such as agri-food, aeronautics (Bombardier opened a plant in Morocco in 2013), education and higher education, clean and renewable energy, entrepreneurship, the environment, transportation infrastructure, science and innovation, and information and communication technologies.

It was during the 22nd Conference of Parties to the United Nations Framework on Climate Change (CdP-22) in Marrakech in November 2016 that Morocco announced the AAA Initiative, or African Agriculture Adaptation to Climate Change Initiative.

Morocco ratified the Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions on June 4, 2013.

Last update: 2017-12-19 10:37:05 AM