Our actions
27 Apr 2012

Northern Forum members in Québec City

Egor Borisov, President of the Sakha Republic (Russia) and Chair of the Northern Forum, and Valery Maximov, Minister of Federal and External Relations, Sakha Republic

The Government of Québec took advantage of the Northern Forum’s Regional Coordinator Committee meeting in Québec City on April 18, 2012, to organize a workshop on adapting to climate change in northern and Arctic regions and finding solutions to permafrost degradation on April 19 and 20. Egor Borisov, President of the Sakha Republic (Russian Federation) and Chair of the Northern Forum participated in the meeting.

Marie-Claude Francoeur, Assistant Deputy Minister, ministère des Relations internationales du Québec.

A number of Québec, Canadian and international experts were invited to present their research and explore practical and technological solutions for adapting to climate change and its impact on northern and arctic regions. The following topics were on the agenda:

  • Permafrost degradation
  • Technological approaches applied to adaptation measures
  • Transportation and housing infrastructure
  • Mineral, natural gas, and oil development
  • Adaptation of populations

What is permafrost?

Permafrost refers to a permanently frozen ground whose temperature remains below 0°C all year. Approximately half the landmass of Canada is currently made up of permafrost. Permafrost comprises approximately 20% of the Earth’s surface, including a quarter of the landmass in the Northern hemisphere, including approximately:

  • 99% of Greenland
  • 80% of Alaska
  • 50% of Russia
  • 50% of Canada
  • 20% of China

The formation, disappearance and thickness of permafrost are closely tied to climate change. This is why it is studied as an indicator of warming by an international network of researchers using surveys, temperature measurements and satellite imaging. It should also be mentioned that rising temperatures pose a challenge for economic development in permafrost zones.

The Northern Forum

The Northern Forum is an organization composed of 10 regional governments from 5 northern countries: Nunavut, Yukon, Québec (Canada); Khanty-Mansiysk, Sakha Republic, Tchoukotka, Vologda (Russian Federation); Akureyri (Iceland); Hokkaido (Japan) and Gangwon-Do (Republic of Korea). It promotes the exchange of expertise in the field of social, economic and culture development in a northern environment.

Québec has been a member of the Northern Forum since 2010.

Workshop: Adapting to climate change in northern and Arctic regions and finding solutions to permafrost degradation
The Northern Forum
Our actions