Head of post

Maria Mourani

Maria Mourani

Phone : +1 418 575-9180 (cell phone)
Twitter
maria.mourani@mri.gouv.qc.ca

Maria Mourani was appointed the Québec Government Representative within the Permanent Delegation of Canada to UNESCO on October 25, 2017. At the time of her appointment she was President and Founder of Mourani-Criminologie.

A Member of Parliament from 2006 to 2015, Ms. Mourani acted as critic for public safety and national security, justice, Canadian heritage, status of women and human rights. She was the first woman of Lebanese origin to sit in the Canadian House of Commons. In 2014, she was decorated with the Presidential Medal of the Diaspora by the Lebanese Minister of Foreign Affairs and Emigrants.

Before beginning her political career, she was a teaching assistant and research officer at Université de Montréal from 2001 to 2004. She also worked as a parole officer for Correctional Service Canada and as a rehabilitation officer with Centres jeunesse de Montréal from 1999 to 2002.

A sociologist, criminologist, author and researcher, Ms. Mourani takes a keen interest in youth crime. She holds a Bachelor’s Degree in clinical criminology and a Master’s Degree in sociology from Université de Montréal. She has published several books and articles and has presented a number of conference papers. She is currently pursuing her doctoral studies at the University of Ottawa on becoming jihadist in Western countries, particularly in Canada, France and Belgium.

Last update: 2017-12-05 2:25:45 PM

Chef de poste

Maria Mourani

Maria Mourani

Téléphone : +33(0) 1 44 43 25 90
Twitter
maria.mourani@international.gc.ca

Maria Mourani a été nommée représentante du gouvernement du Québec au sein de la Délégation permanente du Canada auprès de l’UNESCO le 25 octobre 2017. Au moment de sa nomination, elle agissait à titre de présidente et fondatrice de Mourani-Criminologie.

Députée au Parlement du Canada entre 2006 et 2015, Mme Mourani a notamment agi comme porte-parole en matière de Sécurité publique et nationale, de Justice, de Patrimoine, de Condition féminine et des droits de la personne. Elle a été la première femme d’origine libanaise à siéger au Parlement canadien. En 2014, elle a été décorée de la médaille présidentielle de la Diaspora par le ministre des Affaires étrangères et des Émigrés du Liban.

Avant de débuter sa carrière politique, elle a œuvré dans le milieu de l’enseignement et de la recherche à l’Université de Montréal, de 2001 à 2004. Elle a également travaillé comme agente de libération conditionnelle pour le Service correctionnel du Canada et comme intervenante au sein des Centres jeunesse de Montréal, entre 1999 à 2002.

Sociologue et criminologue, auteure et chercheuse, Mme Mourani s’intéresse à la criminalité chez les jeunes. Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès science en criminologie clinique et d’une maîtrise en sociologie de l’Université de Montréal. Elle compte plusieurs livres, articles et conférences à son actif et mène actuellement des études doctorales à l’Université d’Ottawa sur les jihadistes occidentaux, particulièrement au Canada, en France et en Belgique.

Dernière mise à jour : 2018-08-23 14:44:23