Minister's Message

Photo of Minister Nadine GiraultIn October 2018, Premier François Legault entrusted me with the responsibility of the Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie (Ministry of International Relations and La Francophonie) to spearhead international actions that are more focused on the economy and commerce for the benefit of Quebecers.

The Government of Québec has high ambitions for Québec’s prosperity. For this reason, we have undertaken a major economic shift in our international relations. Actions by my Ministère are therefore aimed at increasing Québec’s economic strike force abroad, shaping its access to the billion potential consumers provided by European and Asian free trade areas, and attracting more foreign investment and skilled labour.

Africa also offers new partnership opportunities for Québec both commercially and in the cultural and educational sectors, as well as with respect to human rights. Our “Africa Vision” includes the creation of a multi-sector bridge for collaboration and partnerships between Québec and the African continent that will enable us to foster expertise sharing and support for best practices, especially in these areas.

Working to promote our cutting-edge sectors, such as artificial intelligence, aerospace and life sciences; providing more visibility for our artists and young entrepreneurs; raising the profile of our identity, culture, language and values; better supporting our representatives abroad by establishing an institute of diplomacy; and developing a strategy for conquering foreign markets: These are just a few examples of other projects my Ministère is pursuing as it strives to consistently better serve the interests of Quebecers.

As Minister of International Relations and La Francophonie, I am proud to be involved in modernizing Québec’s international actions with an eye to enhancing its influence and prosperity.

The Minister,
Nadine Girault

Visit Québec.ca to find out more about the Minister's activities and contact details.

Last update: 2020-06-30 4:11:25 PM

Message de la ministre

Photo de la ministre Nadine GiraultEn octobre 2018, le premier ministre François Legault me confiait la responsabilité du ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie, pour une action internationale davantage axée vers l’économie et le commerce, au bénéfice des Québécoises et des Québécois.

Le gouvernement québécois entretient des ambitions élevées de prospérité pour le Québec. C’est pourquoi nous avons entrepris un virage économique majeur dans nos relations internationales. L’action de mon ministère vise donc à augmenter la force de frappe économique du Québec à l’étranger, à lui façonner un accès au milliard de consommateurs potentiels qu’offrent les espaces de libre-échange avec l’Europe ou l’Asie et à attirer davantage les investissements étrangers et la main-d’œuvre qualifiée.

L’Afrique représente aussi de nouvelles occasions de partenariats pour le Québec, tant commerciaux que dans les secteurs de la culture et de l’éducation, ou encore en matière de droits de la personne. Dans le cadre de notre « vision Afrique », la création d’une passerelle multisectorielle de complicité et de partenariat entre le Québec et le continent africain nous permettra de favoriser les échanges d’expertise et l’appui aux meilleures pratiques, notamment dans ces domaines.

Travailler à la promotion de nos secteurs de pointe, comme l’intelligence artificielle, l’aérospatiale ou les sciences de la vie; offrir plus de visibilité à nos artistes et à nos jeunes entrepreneurs; faire rayonner notre identité, notre culture, notre langue et nos valeurs; mieux soutenir nos représentants à l’étranger par la mise sur pied d’un institut de la diplomatie; développer une stratégie de conquête des marchés étrangers : voilà seulement quelques exemples des autres chantiers poursuivis par mon ministère pour toujours mieux servir les intérêts des Québécoises et des Québécois.

À titre de ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie, je suis fière d’être partie prenante de la modernisation de l’action internationale du Québec en vue d’accroître son influence et sa prospérité.

La ministre,
Nadine Girault

Consultez le site Québec.ca pour connaître les activités de la ministre et ses coordonnées.

Dernière mise à jour : 2020-05-21 15:24:17