Envoys

Since world issues know no borders, the Government of Québec has mandated envoys to promote its priorities and the strategic directions of Québec’s International Policy.

Three envoys will help promote Québec’s positions and advance its interests in the following policy areas:

This theme-based approach will enhance Québec’s presence and influence on the world stage. The nomination of envoys is part of the initiatives undertaken by the Ministry and the official foreign representations of Québec as well as those of various government departments and agencies.

Envoy for Climate Change and Northern and Arctic Affairs

The Envoy for Climate Change and Northern and Arctic Affairs has a general mandate to broaden Québec’s international commitment in the fields of northern and Arctic affairs and the fight against climate change, two government priorities set out in Québec’s International Policy.

Jean Lemire

Jean Lemire is a biologist and renowned international scientific communicator. His appointment as Envoy for Climate Change and Northern and Arctic Affairs testifies to Québec’s strong commitment to contribute to international efforts and seek sustainable solutions by leveraging Québec expertise in these two fields.

Jean Lemire

“I agreed to become the Envoy for Climate Change and Northern and Arctic Affairs because these are challenges that face all of humanity and that call for the commitment of all, and because Québec has a singular service to perform from a standpoint of solidarity. I bring my experience, my commitment to the planet and my determination to this task.”

- Jean Lemire

Biography

Jean Lemire has been sailing the world’s oceans for over 15 years to raise public awareness of important environmental issues. His work on climate change and biodiversity has led to major scientific missions, including a three-year world tour to study the status of world biodiversity in collaboration with the Secretariat of the UN Convention on Biological Diversity.

His expertise and commitment will bolster Québec’s undeniable leadership on the international stage in northern and Arctic affairs and in the fight against climate change.

Mandate

He will notably be tasked with establishing new international partnerships with the goal of reducing greenhouse gas emissions and putting carbon pricing mechanisms in place. Mr. Lemire will also help implement international climate cooperation measures that will support the most vulnerable French-speaking countries.

Mr. Lemire will continue to ensure that Québec is a credible actor in international discussions on Arctic issues by creating or reinforcing ties with governmental and non-governmental actors in the northern and Arctic regions and by actively participating in the main international forums dedicated to northern and Arctic issues. He will also be tasked with promoting Québec’s expertise in sustainable northern development, facilitating joint international initiatives and encouraging the sharing of best practices in this area.

Envoy for Human rights and Freedoms

The Envoy for Human rights and Freedoms has a mandate to extend the Government of Québec’s international actions in matters of human rights and to position it as a committed actor with regard to gender equality and the protection and promotion of the rights and freedoms of lesbian, gay, bisexual and trans (LGBT) people.

Julie Miville-Dechêne

Julie Miville-Dechêne has a deep understanding of the issues surrounding gender equality and women’s rights. Her appointment as envoy for Human rights and Freedoms demonstrates the Government of Québec’s commitment to protecting these rights.

Julie Miville-Dechêne

“It is with humility and enthusiasm that I embark on this mandate as Envoy for Human rights and Freedoms. Québec is a pioneer in the rights of women and LGBT people. My role is to participate in the efforts to strengthen universal adherence to the defence of these rights, which are so dear to Quebec.”

- Julie Miville-Dechêne

Biography

Before her appointment as envoy, Julie Miville-Dechêne had been serving as the Government of Québec’s representative within the Permanent Delegation of Canada to UNESCO since August 22, 2016. She was also chair of the Conseil du statut de la femme for five years (2011-2016). In this capacity, she advised the government and drafted and contributed to numerous research reports on gender equality issues such as prostitution, “honour-related” violence and surrogate mothers. Prior to chairing the Conseil du statut de la femme, Ms. Miville-Dechêne was a journalist at Radio-Canada, Canada’s national public broadcaster, for more than 25 years. Her media career ended in 2007 when she was appointed ombudsman of the state-owned corporation, becoming the first woman to hold this prestigious position.

Mandate

As envoy, Ms. Miville-Dechêne will seek, among other tasks, to facilitate the exchange of human rights expertise and best practices. She will also support the Québec Government’s offices abroad in implementing innovative initiatives to promote the advancement of human rights on the international stage.


Back to top

Envoy for International mobility and the Recognition of professional qualifications

Coming soon.


Last update: 2018-03-01 3:23:41 PM

Share
Partage sur Facebook Partage sur Twitter Partage sur Linkedln Partage sur Courriel
 
 

To reach the envoys


Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie
380, rue Saint-Antoine Ouest Montréal (Québec) H2Y 3X7
Phone : 514 873-6708

Émissaires

Les enjeux mondiaux ne connaissant pas de frontières, le Gouvernement du Québec confie à des émissaires des mandats liés aux priorités gouvernementales et aux orientations de la Politique internationale du Québec.

Trois émissaires contribueront à la promotion des positions québécoises et à l’avancement des intérêts du Québec dans les domaines d’action suivants :

Cette approche thématique dynamisera la représentation du Québec sur la scène internationale et permettra d’accroitre son influence. La nomination d’émissaires complète ainsi les initiatives menées par le Ministère, les représentations officielles du Québec à l’étranger ainsi que celles des divers ministères et organismes.

Émissaire aux changements climatiques et aux enjeux nordiques et arctiques

L'émissaire aux changements climatiques et aux enjeux nordiques et arctiques a le mandat général d’approfondir l’engagement international du Québec dans les domaines de la lutte contre les changements climatiques et des affaires nordiques et arctiques, deux priorités gouvernementales inscrites dans la Politique internationale du Québec.

Jean Lemire

Jean Lemire est un biologiste et un communicateur scientifique reconnu mondialement. Sa nomination à titre d’émissaire aux changements climatiques et aux enjeux nordiques et arctiques témoigne de la volonté ferme du Québec de contribuer, aux efforts internationaux et à la recherche de solutions durables, par la mise en valeur de l’expertise québécoise dans ces deux domaines.

Jean Lemire

« J'ai accepté de devenir émissaire aux changements climatiques et aux enjeux nordiques et arctiques, car ce sont là des défis de l'humanité qui requièrent l'engagement de tous, et le Québec a une contribution singulière à faire valoir dans une perspective de solidarité. »

« J'apporte ici mon expérience, mon engagement pour la planète et ma détermination. »

- Jean Lemire

Biographie

Jean Lemire sillonne les océans de la planète depuis plus de 15 ans pour sensibiliser les populations aux grands enjeux environnementaux. Ses travaux sur les changements climatiques et la biodiversité ont mené à de grandes missions scientifiques, dont un tour du monde de trois ans pour traiter de l’état de la biodiversité mondiale, en collaboration avec le Secrétariat de la Convention sur la diversité biologique de l’ONU.

Son expertise et son engagement contribueront au leadership indéniable qu’exerce le Québec dans les enjeux nordiques et arctiques, ainsi qu’en matière de lutte contre les changements climatiques sur la scène internationale.

Mandat

Jean Lemire aura notamment pour tâche de développer de nouveaux partenariats internationaux visant la réduction de gaz à effet de serre et l’utilisation de mécanismes de tarification du carbone. Il contribuera également à mettre en œuvre les mesures de coopération climatique internationale venant en appui aux pays francophones les plus vulnérables.

De plus, M. Lemire continuera à faire du Québec un acteur crédible dans les échanges internationaux sur les enjeux touchant l’Arctique, en créant ou consolidant des liens avec les acteurs gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux de la région nordique et arctique, et en participant activement aux principaux forums internationaux sur les enjeux de cette région. Son rôle sera également de promouvoir l’expertise québécoise en développement nordique durable et de favoriser les initiatives internationales communes, en plus d’encourager les échanges de meilleures pratiques dans ce domaine.


Retour en haut de la page

Émissaire aux droits et libertés de la personne

L'émissaire aux droits et libertés de la personne a le mandat général d’approfondir l’action internationale du Gouvernement du Québec en matière de droits et libertés de la personne et de positionner celui-ci comme un acteur engagé en ce qui a trait à l’égalité entre les femmes et les hommes ainsi qu’à la protection et à la promotion des droits et libertés des personnes lesbiennes, gaies, bisexuelles et trans (LGBT).

Julie Miville-Dechêne

Julie Miville-Dechêne possède une connaissance approfondie des enjeux qui touchent notamment les droits des femmes et l’égalité entre les femmes et les hommes. Sa nomination à titre d’émissaire aux droits et libertés de la personne témoigne de l’engagement du Gouvernement du Québec à l’égard de la promotion et de la protection de ces droits.

Julie Miville-Dechêne

« C’est avec humilité et enthousiasme que j’entame ce mandat d’émissaire aux droits et libertés de la personne. En matière de droits des femmes et des personnes LGBT, le Québec est un pionnier. Mon rôle consiste à participer aux efforts pour renforcer l’adhésion universelle à la défense de ces droits qui sont chers au Québec. »

- Julie Miville-Dechêne

Biographie

Avant d’être nommée émissaire, Julie Miville-Dechêne exerçait la fonction de représentante du Gouvernement du Québec au sein de la Délégation permanente du Canada auprès de l’UNESCO depuis le 22 août 2016. Elle a aussi été présidente du Conseil du statut de la femme durant cinq ans (2011-2016). À ce titre, elle a conseillé le gouvernement, en plus d’avoir dirigé et contribué à de nombreux rapports de recherche, sur les enjeux d’égalité femmes-hommes, comme la prostitution, les violences liées à « l’honneur » et les mères porteuses. Avant de présider le Conseil du statut de la femme, Julie Miville-Dechêne a été journaliste à Radio-Canada, la chaîne de radiotélévision publique canadienne, pendant plus de 25 ans. Elle a terminé sa carrière dans les médias en étant nommée, en 2007, ombudsman de cette société d’État. Elle a été la première femme à occuper ce poste prestigieux de médiatrice de presse.

Mandat

À titre d’émissaire, Mme Miville-Dechêne veillera notamment à favoriser l’échange d’expertise et de pratiques exemplaires en matière de droits de la personne. Elle appuiera aussi le réseau de représentations du Gouvernement du Québec à l’étranger dans la mise en place d’actions innovantes qui permettront de promouvoir l’avancement des droits de la personne sur la scène internationale.


Retour en haut de la page

Émissaire en matière de mobilité internationale et de reconnaissance des qualifications professionnelles

À venir.

Dernière mise à jour : 2018-01-10 13:55:45

Partage
Partage sur Facebook Partage sur Twitter Partage sur Linkedln Partage sur Courriel
 
 

Pour joindre les émissaires


Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie
380, rue Saint-Antoine Ouest Montréal (Québec) H2Y 3X7
Tél : 514 873-6708