Political and institutional relations

The Québec government has been active in Tokyo since 1973 when it opened its first government office in Asia. Today, the Québec Government Office in Tokyo continues to be the only Québec government office in Asia that holds the status of General Delegation.

Québec’s first official activity in Japan took place during the 1970 World Exposition in Osaka. Since then, some thirty ministerial missions, including three led by premiers, attest to the progress that has been made over the past four decades.

Japan is likewise well established in Québec. Its Consulate General in Montréal has been active for over five decades since it opened in 1965, and has consolidated cordial relations between Québec and Japan.

Québec’s most recent official missions to Japan:

  • Minister of Energy and Natural Resources and Minister responsible for Plan Nord (September 2017)
  • Québec Deputy Premier (March 2017)
  • President of the National Assembly of Québec (January 2016)
  • Minister of International Relations, La Francophonie and External Trade (January 2014)
  • Chief Scientist, to attend the Science and Technology in Society Forum (October 2013)
  • Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food, to attend the FOODEX food and beverage trade show (March 2012)

The Québec government has hosted several official Japanese visits to Québec, including:

  • Governor of Mie prefecture (September 2017)
  • Vice Governor of Kyoto (May 2016)
  • Mayor of Hiroshima (June 2015)
  • Governor of Kyoto prefecture (June 2012)

Decentralized cooperation

In recent years, the Québec Government Office in Tokyo has increased its efforts to develop relations with certain Japanese prefectures, including Kyoto, with which Québec signed a friendship and collaboration agreement (French only) in 2016, a first with a Japanese prefecture. This agreement establishes a framework for cooperation aimed at supporting concrete activities and projects in areas as varied as the economy, the environment, education, youth, culture and arts. A joint Québec-Kyoto working group has been tasked with evaluating projects submitted in public calls for projects. The first call for cooperation projects was held in spring 2017, and the first meeting of the working group took place in Kyoto in September 2017.

The cities of Hiroshima and Montréal have been twinned since 1998. 2015 was marked by commemorations of the 70th anniversary of the Hiroshima and Nagasaki bombings. As a result, a motion was adopted in the Québec National Assembly on June 10, 2015 on the occasion of the Mayor of Hiroshima’s visit to Montréal.

Last update: 2017-11-28 2:44:07 PM

Relations politiques et institutionnelles

C’est lors de l’Exposition universelle d’Osaka en 1970 qu’a eu lieu la première activité officielle du Québec au Japon. Les missions ministérielles qui ont suivi depuis, une trentaine, dont trois de premiers ministres, témoignent du chemin parcouru durant ces quatre décennies.

Quant à lui, le Japon est bien implanté au Québec avec son consulat général à Montréal qui est actif depuis plus de cinq décennies, soit depuis son ouverture en 1965, consolidant ainsi les relations cordiales Québec-Japon.

Les plus récentes missions officielles du Québec au Japon :

  • ministre de l’Énergie et des Ressources naturelles et ministre responsable du Plan Nord (septembre 2017);
  • vice-première ministre du Québec (mars 2017);
  • président de l’Assemblée nationale du Québec (janvier 2016);
  • ministre des Relations internationales, de la Francophonie et du Commerce extérieur (janvier 2014);
  • scientifique en chef au Science and Technology in Society Forum (octobre 2013);
  • ministre de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation à la foire agroalimentaire FOODEX (mars 2012).

Le Québec a accueilli plusieurs visites officielles japonaises sur son territoire, dont les suivantes :

  • gouverneur de la préfecture de Mie (septembre 2017);
  • vice-gouverneur de la préfecture de Kyoto (mai 2016);
  • maire d’Hiroshima (juin 2015);
  • gouverneur de la préfecture de Kyoto (juin 2012).

Coopération décentralisée

Au cours des dernières années, la DGQT a renforcé son action en vue de développer des relations avec certaines préfectures japonaises, dont celle de Kyoto, avec laquelle le Québec a signé un accord d’amitié et de collaboration en 2016, une première avec une préfecture japonaise. Cet accord établit un cadre de coopération visant à soutenir la réalisation d’activités et de projets concrets issus de domaines variés, tels que l’économie, l’environnement, l’éducation, la jeunesse, la culture et les arts. Un groupe de travail mixte Québec-Kyoto est chargé de l’évaluation des projets soumis au terme d’appels à projets publics. Le premier appel à projets de coopération a eu lieu au courant du printemps 2017, et la première réunion du groupe de travail s’est tenue à Kyoto en septembre 2017.

Depuis 1998, les villes d’Hiroshima et de Montréal sont jumelées. L’année 2015 a été marquée par les commémorations du 70e anniversaire du bombardement d’Hiroshima et de Nagasaki et a donné lieu à l’adoption d’une motion à l’Assemblée nationale du Québec, le 10 juin 2015, à l’occasion de la visite à Montréal du maire d’Hiroshima.

Dernière mise à jour : 2018-03-26 14:50:47