Areas of collaboration

Bilaterally, Québec’s efforts to establish collaborative relations with Japan are essentially set out in priorities 1 and 3 of Québec’s International Policy.

Building a more prosperous Québec

Japan is Québec’s second largest export market in Asia (after China) and sixth largest worldwide. Year after year, the bio-food sector has accounted for nearly half of Québec’s exports in this market, with a market share of over 40%. Aerospace is another sector that has experienced considerable success, with high-tech products accounting for nearly 30% of Québec’s exports to Japan.

For more information on Japan’s economy and trade relations between Québec and Japan, please consult the Note sur le commerce du Japon (French only).

Examples of recent trade agreements

  • August 2017 – Air Canada announces that it will offer non-stop service between Montréal and Tokyo
  • May 2016 – CyberConnect2 announces the opening of a Montréal branch in the video games sector
  • April 2016 – Kabuchan International invested $1 million in private financing for the Théâtre Le Diamant project in Québec City
  • February 2016 – Bridgestone invested $312 million in its Joliette plant in Québec
  • September 2015 – Olympus NDT, specialist in composite fault detection, will invest $35 million in Québec to build a new complex by 2017 for its 400 employees
  • May 2015 – Medicago, a subsidiary of Japanese Mitsubishi Tanabe Pharma, will invest $245 million in Québec to build a new facility in 2019, thus creating 200 new highly specialized jobs.

Promoting Québec creativity, culture, knowledge and specificity

While business-oriented activities have always dominated trade between Québec and Japan, activities related to culture, research and innovation, and those related to Québec’s identity and the French language are becoming increasingly important. Headed by major industrial groups, Japan’s mature economy is a frontrunner in research and development spending (ranking fourth worldwide with 3.3% of its gross domestic product in 2015) thereby providing business and partnership opportunities for innovative companies and Québec researchers.

Research, innovation and knowledge development

Japan’s most promising sectors for Québec include information and communications technology, green building, video games, aeronautics, artificial intelligence and life sciences.

Québec universities are active on the Japanese scene. There were 35 agreements in 2014 between Japanese and Québec universities. The Université de Montréal and Université Laval stand out in this regard. Each has a dozen bilateral student and professor exchange agreements in effect.

McGill University celebrated the 15th anniversary of its McGill MBA Japan program in 2014 and has a network of more than 450 graduates who completed their studies in Japan.

Culture

Regarded as one of the world’s main cultural centres, Japan is a market of interest for many Québec artists. Many of these artists have achieved remarkable success there, especially in the performing arts. A case in point is the phenomenal success of Cirque du Soleil, which has thrilled more than 10 million Japanese spectators over the past 20 years. Another example that demonstrates how much the Japanese appreciate Québec cultural creations is the highly regarded exhibition on Frédéric Back’s work, presented at Tokyo’s Museum of Contemporary Art in 2011 and subsequently at the Sapporo Art Museum and Hiroshima Prefectural Art Museum in 2012.

The reason so many Québec artists are benefiting from the ties that the Québec Government Office in Tokyo has established with a broad network of Japanese cultural representatives is that the ties have also enabled a large number of Japanese producers and distributors to participate in such major events in Québec as the Festival TransAmériques, Montréal Complètement Cirque, Coups de Théâtre and CINARS (International Performing Arts Conference).

In order to maximize contacts with Japan’s cultural community, the Government of Québec established a partnership in 2017 with the Tokyo Museum of Contemporary Art, which administers the Tokyo Wonder Site Residency. This agreement, which is based on the principle of reciprocity, offers accommodations for Québec artists in the heart of the Japanese capital and provides opportunities for them to exchange and collaborate with Japanese creators and their professional networks.

French language

Québec studies in Japan have grown considerably in recent years and several achievements in which the Québec Government Office in Tokyo and the Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie participated bear noting:

  • An undergraduate course on Québec offered once a year at Meiji University in Tokyo since 2003
  • The Québec documentation centre at Meiji University, which has a collection of more than 2,000 books
  • Launch of a second course on Québec offered since 2013 by Konan University in Kobe;
  • Creation of the Japanese Association for Québec Studies (French only) in 2008; the association has a membership of nearly 100 teachers, publishes a Japanese Québec Studies journal annually and organizes a conference for its members, in which Québec speakers from a variety of sectors participate.
  • Publication of Le Québec si lointain, si proche in 2013. Produced by the Japanese Association for Québec Studies for the 40th anniversary of the Québec Government Office in Tokyo, the 300-page work deals with the broad spectrum of ties that have been forged over the decades between Québec and Japan.

Since 2010, Québec has been represented within the Council for the Promotion of La Francophonie in Japan (French only), an organization that brings together over twenty ambassadors from member countries of the International Organization of La Francophonie and some fifteen Francophone associations in Japan.

The Council’s goal is to promote the plurality of La Francophonie in Japan and highlight the use of French through various activities such as the celebration of International Francophonie Day.

In anticipation of the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games, the Council will work closely with the International Organization of La Francophonie, whose regional office for the Asia-Pacific region is located in Vietnam, to ensure the presence and visibility of French at this international event.

Last update: 2017-11-28 2:44:26 PM

Secteurs de collaboration

Sur le plan bilatéral, les efforts du Québec visant à nouer des relations de collaboration avec le Japon s’inscrivent essentiellement dans les priorités 1 et 3 de la Politique internationale du Québec.

Rendre les Québécoises et les Québécois plus prospères

Le Japon est le second marché d’exportation du Québec en Asie (après la Chine) et le sixième à l’échelle mondiale. Le secteur bioalimentaire constitue d’année en année près de la moitié des exportations québécoises sur ce marché, avec une part de plus de 40 %. L’aérospatial est un autre secteur qui y connaît du succès, les produits de technologie de pointe composant près de 30 % des exportations du Québec au Japon.

Pour en savoir plus sur l’économie japonaise et les relations commerciales Québec-Japon, consultez la Note sur le commerce du Japon.

Exemples d’ententes commerciales récentes

  • août 2017 – Air Canada annonce qu’elle offrira une liaison sans escale entre Montréal et Tokyo;
  • mai 2016 – CyberConnect2 annonce l’ouverture d’une succursale à Montréal dans le domaine des jeux vidéo;
  • avril 2016 – Kabuchan International investit 1 M$ dans la campagne de financement privé du projet du Théâtre Le Diamant, à Québec;
  • février 2016 – Bridgestone investit 312 M$ dans son usine de Joliette au Québec;
  • septembre 2015 – Olympus NDT, spécialiste dans la détection de failles dans les composites, investira 35 M$ à Québec afin d’y construire d’ici 2017 un nouveau complexe qui réunira ses 400 employés;
  • mai 2015 – Medicago, une filiale de la société pharmaceutique japonaise Mitsubishi Tanabe Pharma, investira 245 M$ à Québec afin d’y construire un nouveau complexe de production de vaccins, en 2019, entraînant la création de 200 nouveaux emplois hautement spécialisés.

Promouvoir la créativité, la culture, le savoir et la spécificité du Québec

Si les activités à vocation commerciale ont depuis toujours dominé les échanges entre le Québec et le Japon, celles liées à la culture, à la recherche et à l’innovation, de même qu’à l’identité québécoise et à la langue française, occupent une place croissante. En particulier, l’économie mature du Japon, menée par de grands groupes industriels, s’inscrit en chef de file pour ses dépenses en recherche et développement (au quatrième rang mondial avec 3,3 % de son produit intérieur brut en 2015) offrant ainsi des occasions d’affaires et de partenariat pour les entreprises innovantes et les chercheurs québécois.

Recherche, innovation et développement du savoir

Parmi les secteurs les plus porteurs du Québec au Japon, on trouve les technologies de l’information et des communications, la construction verte, le multimédia, les jeux vidéo, l’aéronautique, l’intelligence artificielle et les sciences de la vie.

Les universités québécoises sont actives sur la scène japonaise. En 2014, on comptait quelque 35 ententes signées entre des universités japonaises et québécoises. L’Université de Montréal et l’Université Laval se démarquent à cet égard avec chacune une douzaine d’ententes bilatérales en vigueur visant l’échange d’étudiants ou de professeurs.

Ayant célébré le 15e anniversaire de son programme McGill MBA Japon en 2014, l’Université McGill compte un réseau de plus de 450 diplômés de ce programme.

Culture

Perçu comme l’un des principaux pôles culturels mondiaux, le Japon constitue un marché d’intérêt pour plusieurs artistes québécois. Nombre d’entre eux y ont connu un succès notable, plus particulièrement dans les arts de la scène. Citons, entre autres, le succès phénoménal du Cirque du Soleil qui, au cours des 20 dernières années, a fait la joie de plus de 10 millions de spectateurs japonais. Autre exemple témoignant de l’appréciation des Japonais pour les créations culturelles québécoises, la très estimée exposition sur l’œuvre de Frédéric Back présentée au Museum of Contemporary Art de Tokyo, en 2011, puis successivement au Sapporo Art Museum et au Hiroshima Prefectural Art Museum en 2012.

Si tant d’artistes québécois tirent avantage des liens développés par la DGQT avec un large réseau de représentants culturels japonais, c’est que ces liens ont permis à la fois une forte participation de producteurs et de diffuseurs japonais à différents événements d’envergure au Québec, tels que le Festival TransAmériques, Montréal Complètement Cirque, Coups de théâtre ou encore CINARS (Conférence internationale des arts de la scène).

Afin de maximiser les contacts avec le milieu artistique japonais, le Gouvernement du Québec a conclu en 2017 un partenariat avec le Musée d’art contemporain de Tokyo, qui dirige la résidence pour artistes Tokyo Wonder Site. Cette entente, basée sur le principe de réciprocité, permet à des artistes québécois d’être hébergés au cœur de la capitale nippone et leur offre des possibilités d’échange et de collaboration avec des créateurs japonais et leurs réseaux professionnels.

Langue française

Les études québécoises au Japon se sont considérablement développées au cours des dernières années et plusieurs avancées associant la DGQT et le ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie sont à signaler, dont :

  • l’offre d’un cours de premier cycle portant sur le Québec, proposé une fois par année à l’Université Meiji de Tokyo depuis 2003;
  • le centre de documentation sur le Québec à l’Université Meiji qui compte une collection de plus de 2 000 livres;
  • le lancement d’un deuxième cours sur le Québec offert depuis 2013 par l’Université Konan de Kobe;
  • la création, en 2008, de l’Association japonaise des études québécoises, regroupant une centaine de professeurs et publiant chaque année une revue japonaise d’études québécoises, en plus de proposer à ses membres un congrès auquel participent des conférenciers québécois de milieux variés;
  • la parution, en 2013, du livre Le Québec si lointain, si proche, un ouvrage de 300 pages produit par l’Association japonaise des études québécoises, à l’occasion du 40e anniversaire de la DGQT, qui traite de la diversité des liens tissés au fil des décennies entre le Québec et le Japon.

Depuis 2010, le Québec est représenté au sein du Conseil pour la promotion de la Francophonie au Japon, une organisation regroupant plus d’une vingtaine d’ambassadeurs de pays membres de l’Organisation internationale de la Francophonie en plus d’une quinzaine d’associations francophones au Japon.

Le Conseil a pour but de promouvoir l’image plurielle de la Francophonie au Japon et de valoriser l’usage du français par plusieurs activités, dont la célébration de la Journée internationale de la Francophonie.

En vue des Jeux olympiques de Tokyo de 2020, le Conseil travaillera en étroite collaboration avec l’Organisation internationale de la Francophonie, qui possède un bureau régional pour l’Asie du Pacifique au Vietnam, afin de s’assurer de la présence et de la visibilité du français lors de cet événement international.

Dernière mise à jour : 2017-11-28 14:44:27