Political and institutional relations - Belgium / Netherlands and Luxembourg

Québec maintains its most significant ties in Belgium with federated entities such as Wallonia, Flanders and the Brussels-Capital Region. However relations between Québec and Federal Belgium have increased since 2005.

Belgium is of undeniable interest to Québec, particularly owing to Québec’s close ties with French-speaking and Flemish-speaking entities.

40 years of relations in the Benelux

In 2012, Québec commemorated the fortieth anniversary of its presence in Belgium. The Québec Government Office in Brussels (DGQB) opened on September 26, 1972.

Over the past four decades, scores of achievements have helped build bridges across the Atlantic between government officials, business people, expert researchers and artists. This has resulted in ever-increasing positive outcomes for the economy, culture, education, science, and state governance.

In addition to its strategic position, choosing Brussels stemmed both from the natural ties that Québec was already maintaining with the Francophone portion of Belgium and the fact that it is home to the European Union’s main institutions.

The mandate of the Québec Government Office in Brussels quickly extended beyond Belgium’s borders to include the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, the Netherlands and European institutions.

The 1980s: laying the groundwork

During the second decade of Québec’s presence in Brussels, several cooperation agreements were signed. In 1980, a permanent Wallonia-Québec committee was established to implement industrial, scientific and technological cooperation. In 1989, a cooperation agreement with a more institutional and political focus was made official. That same year, Québec also signed a cooperation agreement on language issues with the French Community of Belgium (FCB).

In 1984, a permanent tool to benefit youth was created: the Québec-Wallonia-Brussels Agency for Youth. Now known as the Québec-Wallonia-Brussels Youth Office (OQWBJ), this organization currently enables nearly 600 young Quebecers to carry out internships in the Benelux. 1984 also saw the creation of the Rapsat-Lelièvre Award to reward vocal artists and stimulate the production and distribution of French-language recordings.

In 1986, Flanders and Québec signed a scientific agreement on biotechnology and information technology. Three years later, bilateral relations were redefined within the framework of a general cooperation agreement covering the economic sectors.

The 1990’s: expansion

Québec’s relations with its Benelux partners continued to grow.

In 1999, Québec and Francophone entities in Belgium (the Walloon Region and the French Community) decided to further vitalize their cooperation by signing a new agreement and adding another partner: the French Community Commission of the Brussels-Capital Region (COCOF).

Since 2000: consolidation

In 2001, Québec and the Netherlands signed a social security reciprocity agreement. A similar agreement was ratified with Belgium in 2010 allowing citizens to maintain their protection while working or studying in the other territory and apply those years of service toward their pensions. A driver’s licence exchange agreement with Belgium went into effect in October, 2010.

Relations with Flanders were strengthened in summer 2001 when the Minister-President of Flanders and the Premier of Québec signed a joint statement designating the cultural, economic, scientific and technological sectors as key driving forces for cooperation.

The following year, the Government of Québec and the Brussels-Capital Region signed a cooperation agreement which was followed in 2006 by an agreement focusing more specifically on the establishment of a joint industrial and technological cooperation program.

Political relations with the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg were made official through an education and training cooperation agreement signed in 2002 as well as through an international collaboration institutional agreement to strengthen information security.

Since 2007, the Québec Government Office in Brussels has been playing a leading role in promoting the Canada-EU economic partnership project by raising awareness about it in the political and business communities. Negotiations on the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement between Canada and the European Union (CETA) were launched in 2009.

2012 and beyond: perspectives

Québec intends to continue the close cooperation it has established with its partners in the economic, cultural and institutional sectors.

The next few years will be just as crucial for relations with the European Union and will include what promise to be defining moments: the signing and entry into force of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement between Canada and the European Union and the implementation of the Plan Nord.

Last update: 2017-03-17 3:07:37 PM

Relations politiques

Relations politiques et institutionnelles

Sur le territoire de la Belgique, le Québec entretient ses liens les plus importants avec des entités fédérées comme la Wallonie, la Flandre ou la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale. Toutefois, les relations entre le Québec et la Belgique fédérale se sont toutefois accentuées depuis 2005.

La Belgique présente un intérêt indéniable pour le Québec, et ce, particulièrement en raison de ses liens privilégiés avec les entités francophone et flamande.

40 ans de relations dans le Benelux

En 2012, le Québec soulignait le quarantième anniversaire de sa présence en sol belge. En effet, c’est le 26 septembre 1972 que la Délégation générale du Québec à Bruxelles (DGQB) a vu le jour.

Au cours de ces quatre décennies, de nombreuses réalisations ont contribué à jeter des ponts au delà de l’Atlantique entre élus, gens d’affaires, experts-chercheurs et artistes. Des retombées positives sur l’économie, la culture, l’éducation, la science, la gouvernance des États en ont découlé et continuent de s’intensifier.

Outre sa position stratégique, le choix de Bruxelles s’explique à la fois par les liens naturels que le Québec entretenait déjà avec la partie francophone de la Belgique et du fait qu’on y trouve les principales institutions de l’Union européenne.

Le mandat de la DGQB dépassera rapidement les frontières belges pour s’ouvrir au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg, aux Pays-Bas et aux institutions européennes.

Années 1980 : les fondements

La seconde décennie de présence québécoise à Bruxelles verra la naissance de plusieurs ententes de coopération. Ainsi, dès 1980 un comité permanent Wallonie-Québec est constitué afin de mettre en œuvre une coopération industrielle, scientifique et technologique. Davantage institutionnelle et politique, une entente de coopération entre le Québec et la Wallonie est officialisée en 1989. La même année, le Québec signe, cette fois avec la Communauté française de Belgique (CFB), une entente de coopération en matière linguistique.

En 1984 est créé un outil permanent de coopération au profit de la jeunesse : l’Agence Québec Wallonie Bruxelles pour la jeunesse. Désormais connu sous l’appellation Office Québec Wallonie Bruxelles pour la jeunesse (OQWBJ), cet organisme permet aujourd’hui à près de 600 jeunes Québécois d’effectuer des stages dans ce coin du globe. Cette même année, le prix Rapsat-Lelièvre voit le jour pour récompenser des artistes de la chanson et stimuler la production et la diffusion de disques francophones.

En 1986, la Flandre et le Québec signent une entente scientifique en matière de biotechnologie et de technologies de l’information. Trois ans plus tard, les relations bilatérales sont inscrites dans le cadre d’une entente générale de coopération qui couvre le domaine économique.

Années 1990: l’expansion

Les relations du Québec avec ses partenaires du Benelux continuent de se développer.

En 1999, le Québec et les entités francophones de Belgique (la Région wallonne et la Communauté française) optent pour dynamiser leur coopération en signant un nouvel accord et en y associant un autre partenaire : la Commission communautaire française de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale (COCOF).

Depuis 2000: la consolidation

Dès 2001, le Québec et les Pays-Bas signent une entente de réciprocité en matière de sécurité sociale. Un accord similaire voit le jour avec la Belgique en 2010, lequel permet aux citoyens de conserver leur protection lors de séjours de travail ou d’études et de cumuler les années de service pour leur pension. Entrée en vigueur en octobre 2010, une autre entente conclue avec la Belgique concerne cette fois l’échange de permis de conduire.

Les relations avec la Flandre sont renforcées, à l’été 2001, avec la signature par le ministre-président flamand et le premier ministre du Québec d’une Déclaration commune par laquelle les domaines culturel, économique, scientifique et technologique sont retenus comme principaux moteurs de coopération. L’année suivante, le Gouvernement du Québec et la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale concluent un accord de coopération.

L’année suivante, le Gouvernement du Québec et la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale concluent un accord de coopération. Il sera suivi en 2006 par une entente portant plus précisément sur la mise en place d'un programme conjoint de coopération industrielle et technologique.

Avec le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg, les relations politiques sont officialisées par une entente de coopération dans le domaine de l’éducation et de la formation, signée en 2002, ainsi que par une entente institutionnelle de collaboration internationale pour renforcer la sécurité de l’information.

Dès 2007, la DGQB joue un rôle de premier plan dans la promotion du projet de partenariat économique entre le Canada et l’Union européenne en y sensibilisant les milieux politiques et le monde des affaires. Les négociations de l’Accord économique et commercial global entre le Canada et l’Union européenne (AECG) sont lancées en 2009.

2012 et au-delà : perspectives

Le Québec entend poursuivre la coopération étroite qu’il a établie avec ses différents partenaires dans les domaines économique, culturel et institutionnel.

Les prochaines années, également cruciales pour les relations avec l’Union européenne, comprendront quelques moments qui promettent d’être marquants : la conclusion et l’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord économique et commercial global entre le Canada et l’Union européenne ainsi que la mise en œuvre du Plan Nord.

Dernière mise à jour : 2016-09-12 15:41:35