Québec-Canada agreement on UNESCO

Today, we are making history. This first step in a new era of partnership between our two governments touches on an international issue. What was once an implicit coexistence has become explicit cooperation.

Jean Charest, Premier of Québec, May 5, 2006

The May 5, 2006 agreement between the Government of Québec and the Government of Canada concerning the United Nations Education, Science and Culture Organization (UNESCO) was an unprecedented step forward, placing it among the most decisive initiatives in Québec's international relations history.

An Unprecedented Acknowledgment

Its historic nature is first demonstrated by the text's explicit recognition “that the specificity of Québec leads it to play a special role internationally.” This recognition applies to all of Québec's international partners, and was not only a change in tone, but a change in era.

A First: Québec is Part of the UN

The agreement establishes a formal role for Québec as part of the United Nations, another historic first. It follows up on a request submitted by each of Québec's successive governments over the past four decades. Québec's presence as a full participating member of the Permanent Delegation of Canada to UNESCO is now an established fact—Québec can express its own voice.

A Permanent Representative

The agreement provides for the nomination and subsequent official appointment of Québec's Permanent Representative to Canada's mission to UNESCO. The nomination is made by the Government of Québec. Its physical presence in the Canadian mission is essential for three reasons: first, to guarantee its immediate access to all of UNESCO's official documents; second, to be able to participate in cooperative efforts initiated by the agreement between the Government of Québec and the Canadian government before Canada takes a position or votes; and thirdly, to be able to vote for government representatives of international organizations.

A Right to Free Speech in all UNESCO Bodies

Québec's permanent representative to UNESCO is the centerpiece of Québec's daily involvement at UNESCO. However, it is not the only party that can act on Québec's behalf at UNESCO conferences, proceedings, and meetings. The agreement specifies that Québec is represented “in full and according to its wishes” in all Canadian delegations, in all UNESCO bodies. When it deems suitable and when circumstances warrant, the government can be represented by a member of the Cabinet authorized to deliver its message. Québec is guaranteed a voice during Canada's allotted time.

According to the rules of international law, a UNESCO-accredited national ambassador takes on the role of mission leader. Thus, the agreement evokes the “general direction of the Canadian mission as a whole” entrusted to the Canadian ambassador. Québec's position is developed according to the Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie in conjunction with the concerned sectoral departments.

An Unprecedented Cooperation Mechanism

Québec's successive governments have relentlessly championed their hope to be consulted prior to Canadian interventions in multilateral fora. The agreement stipulates that the two governments “will work in concert on all votes, resolutions, negotiations and proposed international instruments at UNESCO.

Another Precedent: the Federal Government Must Explain its Disagreement

The agreement also addresses situations in which a consensus cannot be reached during a meeting. The method for managing any such discrepancy is noteworthy: The federal government is responsible for ultimately justifying itself to Québec, not the inverse. In the event of an impasse, the Government of Québec “alone will decide if it proceeds with implementation in areas of its responsibility.” Québec's choice of whether to carry out an international commitment within its scope of responsibility is the crowning jewel of its international relations policy. The agreement solidifies this legal authority and formalizes the federal government's assent. Québec has always maintained that its approval remains key to implementation, and the agreement is careful to honor this point of view.

A Québec Seat on the Canadian Commission for UNESCO

Lastly, the agreement gives Québec the responsibility to “initiate a mechanism for consulting Québec experts, both in government and civil society.” The result of these consultations is conveyed by the Government of Québec to the federal government and to the Canadian Commission for UNESCO, which then report to UNESCO. In addition, a representative of the Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie du Québec now sits on the Executive Committee to the Canadian Commission for UNESCO—another precedent.

An Historic Agreement with Perpetual Gains

It is important to remember that the federal government officially recognizes Québec's international role through this agreement. It is a groundbreaking role—for the first time, Québec has a voice within the United Nations.

See Québec-Canada agreement on UNESCO(82 KB)

Press Release – Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie (in French)

Press Release – Premier's Office (in French)

Last update: 2017-03-17 3:07:44 PM

Accord Québec-Canada sur l'UNESCO

« Aujourd'hui, nous écrivons une page d'histoire. Ce premier geste de nouvelle ère de partenariat entre nos deux gouvernements touche à la question internationale. Ce qui était une coexistence implicite devient une coopération explicite. »

M. Jean Charest, premier ministre du Québec, le 5 mai 2006

L'Accord du 5 mai 2006 entre le Gouvernement du Québec et le Gouvernement du Canada relatif à l'Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'éducation, la science et la culture (UNESCO) consacre des gains et des précédents qui le situe parmi les actes déterminants de l'histoire des relations internationales du Québec.

Une reconnaissance sans précédent

Son caractère historique découle d'abord de la reconnaissance explicite dans le texte de l'accord « que la spécificité du Québec l'amène à jouer un rôle particulier au niveau international ». Cette reconnaissance vaut à l'égard de tous les partenaires internationaux du Québec. Il ne s'agit pas d'un simple changement de ton, mais d'un changement d'époque.

Une première : le Québec dans une organisation des Nations Unies

L'Accord est également historique parce qu'il établit, pour la première fois, un rôle formel pour le Québec au sein d'une organisation des Nations Unies. Il donne suite à une demande formulée par tous les gouvernements du Québec qui se sont succédés au cours des quatre dernières décennies. La présence du Québec de plein droit au sein de la Délégation permanente du Canada auprès de l'UNESCO est désormais acquise : le Québec peut y exprimer sa propre voix.

Un représentant permanent

L'entente prévoit la nomination d'un Représentant permanent du Québec au sein de la mission canadienne à l'UNESCO et désigné officiellement comme tel. Une nomination qui est faite par le Gouvernement du Québec. Sa présence physique dans la mission canadienne est essentielle pour trois raisons : premièrement, pour garantir son accès immédiat à tous les documents officiels transmis par l'UNESCO, deuxièmement, pour être en mesure de prendre part, en temps réel, à la concertation que l'Accord institue entre le Gouvernement du Québec et le Gouvernement du Canada avant tout vote ou prise de position du Canada et troisièmement, pour bénéficier du statut diplomatique de vote aux représentants des gouvernements auprès des organisations internationales.

Un droit de parole dans toutes les instances de l'UNESCO

Ce représentant permanent du Québec à l'UNESCO est au quotidien, la cheville ouvrière, de l'implication du Québec à l'UNESCO. Il est cependant loin d'être le seul à pouvoir intervenir au nom du Québec lors des conférences, des travaux et des réunions de cette organisation. L'Accord précise en effet que le Québec est représenté « à part entière et selon son désir » au sein de toutes les délégations canadiennes, à toutes les instances de l'organisation. Dès qu'il le juge à propos et que les circonstances l'exigent, le gouvernement peut se faire représenter par un membre du Conseil des ministres habilité à livrer le message québécois. De plus, le droit de parole du Québec est garanti, à même le temps imparti au Canada.

Selon les règles du droit international, c'est l'ambassadeur du pays accrédité auprès de l'organisation qui assure le rôle de chef de mission. C'est pour cette raison que l'Accord évoque la « direction générale de l'ensemble de la mission canadienne » confiée à l'ambassadeur canadien. La position québécoise demeure quant à elle élaborée selon les indications du ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie en coordination avec les ministères sectoriels concernés.

Un mécanisme sans précédent de concertation

Les gouvernements qui se sont succédés à Québec ont toujours martelé leur souhait d'être consultés préalablement aux interventions du Canada dans les enceintes multilatérales. L'Accord indique que les deux gouvernements « se concerteront sur tout vote, toute résolution, toute négociation et tout projet d'instrument international élaborés sous l'égide de l'UNESCO ».

Autre précédent : le gouvernement fédéral doit expliquer son désaccord

Autre question importante, l'Accord aborde l'hypothèse où le consensus ne serait pas au rendez-vous. Le mode de gestion d'une éventuelle divergence revêt d'ailleurs un grand intérêt : le fardeau de sa justification incombe alors au gouvernement fédéral. C'est lui qui doit s'expliquer au Québec et non l'inverse. En cas d'impasse, le Gouvernement du Québec « décide seul s'il entend assurer la mise en œuvre des questions pour lesquelles il a la responsabilité ». Cette faculté de mettre en œuvre ou non un engagement international dans ses domaines de responsabilité forge, rappelons-le, la clef de voûte des relations internationales du Québec. L'Accord cristallise ce fondement juridique et en formalise son acquiescement par le gouvernement fédéral. Le Québec a toujours prétendu que son assentiment demeure incontournable à la mise en œuvre. L'Accord respecte scrupuleusement ce point de vue.

Un siège québécois à la Commission canadienne pour l'UNESCO

L'Accord confie finalement au Québec le soin de « mettre en place un mécanisme chargé de consulter les experts québécois, tant gouvernementaux que de la société civile ». Le fruit de ces consultations est transmis par le Gouvernement du Québec au gouvernement fédéral et à la Commission canadienne pour l'UNESCO qui voient à les refléter dans les rapports transmis à l'UNESCO. De plus, un représentant du ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie du Québec siège désormais au Comité exécutif de la Commission canadienne pour l'UNESCO : un autre précédent.

Une entente historique et des gains pérennisés

Il importe enfin de garder l'essentiel à l'esprit : l'Accord officialise la reconnaissance du rôle international du Québec par le gouvernement fédéral. Il repousse de surcroît les frontières de ce rôle : pour la première fois, on consacre le droit du Québec de faire entendre sa voix au sein d'une organisation des Nations Unies.

Consultez l'Accord Québec-Canada sur l'UNESCO (122 Ko)

Communiqué – ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie

Dernière mise à jour : 2016-09-19 16:12:16