The Québec Government Representative in the Permanent Delegation of Canada to UNESCO

Mandate

The May 5, 2006 agreement between the gouvernement du Québec and the Government of Canada concerning the United Nations Education, Science and Culture Organization (UNESCO) was an unprecedented step forward, placing it among the most decisive initiatives in Québec’s international relations history. The Québec Government Representative in the Permanent Delegation of Canada to UNESCO is mandated to:

  • Promote the interests of the gouvernement du Québec in matters of education, culture, scientific development and information society within the international community.
  • Improve government positions through strategic actions drawing on the network of bilateral and multilateral relations of Québec diplomacy.
  • Communicate and defend positions maintained by the gouvernement du Québec in various decision-making and advisory bodies of UNESCO concerning strategic issues.
  • Promote and develop the expertise of the Government of Québec and civil partnership in UNESCO’s fields of activity and in reaching sustainable development targets.
  • Develop and maintain institutional relations with delegations from UNESCO Member States.
  • Actively participate in the work and activities of UNESCO representative groups such as La Francophonie and the Commonwealth.
  • Contribute to the implementation of the Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions.
Back to top

Head of post

Maria Mourani

Maria Mourani

Phone : +1 418 575-9180 (cell phone)
Twitter
maria.mourani@mri.gouv.qc.ca

Maria Mourani was appointed the Québec Government Representative within the Permanent Delegation of Canada to UNESCO on October 25, 2017. At the time of her appointment she was President and Founder of Mourani-Criminologie.

A Member of Parliament from 2006 to 2015, Ms. Mourani acted as critic for public safety and national security, justice, Canadian heritage, status of women and human rights. She was the first woman of Lebanese origin to sit in the Canadian House of Commons. In 2014, she was decorated with the Presidential Medal of the Diaspora by the Lebanese Minister of Foreign Affairs and Emigrants.

Before beginning her political career, she was a teaching assistant and research officer at Université de Montréal from 2001 to 2004. She also worked as a parole officer for Correctional Service Canada and as a rehabilitation officer with Centres jeunesse de Montréal from 1999 to 2002.

A sociologist, criminologist, author and researcher, Ms. Mourani takes a keen interest in youth crime. She holds a Bachelor’s Degree in clinical criminology and a Master’s Degree in sociology from Université de Montréal. She has published several books and articles and has presented a number of conference papers. She is currently pursuing her doctoral studies at the University of Ottawa on becoming jihadist in Western countries, particularly in Canada, France and Belgium.

Back to top

Contact information

Québec Representation in the Permanent Delegation of Canada to UNESCO

5, rue de Constantine
75007 Paris
France
Phone: + 33 (0)1 44 43 25 91
Fax: + 33 (0)1 44 43 25 79

Website

Twitter

Back to top

Last update: 2018-03-14 3:24:23 PM

Représentation du Québec au sein de la Délégation permanente du Canada auprès de l'UNESCO


Mandat

L'Accord entre le gouvernement du Québec et le gouvernement du Canada relatif à l'UNESCO, signé le 5 mai 2006, consacre des gains et des précédents qui le situent parmi les actes déterminants de l'histoire des relations internationales du Québec. Le gouvernement du Québec, avec l'aide de sa représentante au sein de la Délégation permanente du Canada auprès de l'UNESCO, agit de façon à :

  • Promouvoir les intérêts du Québec en matière d'éducation, de culture, de développement scientifique et de société de l'information au sein de la communauté internationale.
  • Enrichir les positions du Canada par des actions stratégiques mettant à contribution le réseau des relations multilatérales et bilatérales de la diplomatie québécoise.
  • Communiquer et défendre les positions du gouvernement du Québec dans les divers organes décisionnels et consultatifs de l'UNESCO.
  • Faire connaître et valoriser l'expertise du Québec dans les domaines de l'UNESCO et dans la poursuite des objectifs de développement durable.
  • Développer et maintenir des relations institutionnelles avec les délégations des États membres de l'UNESCO.
  • Participer activement aux travaux et instances de groupes d'ambassadeurs de l'UNESCO tels que la Francophonie et le Commonwealth.
  • Contribuer à la mise en oeuvre de la Convention sur la promotion et la protection de la diversité des expressions culturelles.

Pour en savoir plus

Retour en haut de la page

Chef de poste

Maria Mourani

Maria Mourani

Téléphone : +33 (0) 01 44 43 25 90
Twitter
maria.mourani@international.gc.ca

Maria Mourani a été nommée représentante du gouvernement du Québec au sein de la Délégation permanente du Canada auprès de l’UNESCO le 25 octobre 2017. Au moment de sa nomination, elle agissait à titre de présidente et fondatrice de Mourani-Criminologie.

Députée au Parlement du Canada entre 2006 et 2015, Mme Mourani a notamment agi comme porte-parole en matière de Sécurité publique et nationale, de Justice, de Patrimoine, de Condition féminine et des droits de la personne. Elle a été la première femme d’origine libanaise à siéger au Parlement canadien. En 2014, elle a été décorée de la médaille présidentielle de la Diaspora par le ministre des Affaires étrangères et des Émigrés du Liban.

Avant de débuter sa carrière politique, elle a œuvré dans le milieu de l’enseignement et de la recherche à l’Université de Montréal, de 2001 à 2004. Elle a également travaillé comme agente de libération conditionnelle pour le Service correctionnel du Canada et comme intervenante au sein des Centres jeunesse de Montréal, entre 1999 à 2002.

Sociologue et criminologue, auteure et chercheuse, Mme Mourani s’intéresse à la criminalité chez les jeunes. Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès science en criminologie clinique et d’une maîtrise en sociologie de l’Université de Montréal. Elle compte plusieurs livres, articles et conférences à son actif et mène actuellement des études doctorales à l’Université d’Ottawa sur les jihadistes occidentaux, particulièrement au Canada, en France et en Belgique.

Retour en haut de la page

Coordonnées

Représentation du Québec au sein de la Délégation permanente du Canada auprès de l'UNESCO

1, rue Miollis
75015 Paris
France
Téléphone : + 33 (0)1 44 43 25 91
Télécopieur : + 33 (0)1 44 43 25 79

Site Web

Twitter

Retour en haut de la page

Dernière mise à jour : 2018-08-23 14:53:01