Bilateral relations

Québec's bilateral relations with federated states and regions

The Government of Québec maintains bilateral relations with some thirty federated states and regions around the world, mainly in Western Europe and North America, but also in Asia and South America. Trade, education, culture, the environment, science and innovation are at the core of the relations between Québec and its partners. These relations allow the parties to share knowledge on issues for which they are responsible, exchange best practices and create linkages between economic and social actors.

Québec's bilateral relations with federated states and regions are an essential vehicle for Québec's international actions. They facilitate access to political, economic and cultural networks at both the regional and central government levels. By increasing Québec's capacity for action, they also benefit all of Québec society.

United States

Québec has long-standing relations with a number of U.S. states. Initially, these ties revolved around cross-border issues. Today, relations between Québec and its American partners, particularly New York State, Vermont and California, serve as a platform for joint efforts to solve problems related to issues such as closer North American economic integration, cross-border crime and environmental protection. Thanks to its leadership deployed via six government offices in the United States (located in Atlanta, Boston, Chicago, Los Angeles, New York and Washington, D.C.), Québec is able to promote and defend its interests on a reciprocal basis.

Examples:

  • agreement on environmental cooperation regarding management of Lake Champlain, signed with New York State and Vermont (2003)
  • bilateral cooperation agreements with Maine (2004), Massachusetts (2007), New Hampshire (2004) and Vermont (2004), covering the sharing of information for law-enforcement purposes
  • Québec–New York summits aimed primarily at businesspeople (2002, 2004, 2005, 2008).

Europe

Québec also maintains constructive relations with many European regions, including Wallonia, Flanders, Bavaria, Catalonia, Lombardy and several regions in France. These relations open a door for Québec to the networks of political, economic, cultural and social decision-makers at the regional, national and European levels. They also facilitate the forging of alliances and coalitions to deal with issues of importance to Québec. Lastly, these relations help to create business opportunities for Québec companies.

Québec's bilateral relations with federated states and regions are also a gateway to Latin America and Asia. One example is the 2008 agreement to develop ties of friendship and exchanges between Québec and Shandong, China. In Brazil, Québec is developing special relations with the State of Sâo Paulo, where a Québec government office was opened in 2008. In Mexico, three multisectoral cooperation agreements have been signed with the states of Jalisco (2006), Guanajuato (2006) and Nuevo León (2009). Several collaborative activities have been launched in the fields of education, culture, the economy, the environment, youth and tourism.

Last update: 2017-07-07 3:06:37 PM

Relations bilatérales

Les relations bilatérales du Québec avec des États fédérés et régions

Le Gouvernement du Québec entretient des relations bilatérales avec une trentaine d'États et de régions fédérés du monde, principalement en Europe de l'Ouest et en Amérique du Nord, mais également en Asie et en Amérique du Sud. Commerce, éducation, culture, environnement, sciences et innovation sont au coeur des relations entre le Québec et ses partenaires. Ces échanges permettent le partage des connaissances sur des enjeux dont ils assument la responsabilité, l'échange des meilleurs pratiques et la création de maillages entre acteurs économiques et sociaux.

Les relations bilatérales du Québec avec les États fédérés et régions constituent un véhicule essentiel de l'action internationale du Québec. Elles facilitent l'accès aux réseaux politiques, économiques et culturels à la fois au niveau régional et central. En accroissant la capacité d'action de l'État québécois, elles bénéficient ainsi à l'ensemble de la société québécoise.

Les États-Unis

Le Québec entretient des relations de longue date avec les États américains. Justifiés tout d’abord par des considérations transfrontalières, les liens qui l’unissent aujourd’hui à ses partenaires, notamment l’État de New York, le Vermont et la Californie, permettent la recherche conjointe de solutions aux problèmes que posent de nombreux enjeux transversaux tels l’approfondissement de l’intégration économique nord-américaine, la criminalité transfrontalière et la protection de l’environnement. Grâce au leadership qu’il exerce, en outre, par le biais de ses six représentations en sol américain (Atlanta, Boston, Chicago, Los Angeles, New York et Washington), le Québec réussit, sur une base de réciprocité, à promouvoir et à défendre ses intérêts.

En témoignent :

  • l’entente de coopération en matière d’environnement relativement à la gestion des eaux du lac Champlain conclue avec l’État de New York et le Vermont (2003);
  • la conclusion d’accords de coopération bilatérale avec les États du Maine (2004), du Massachusetts (2007), du New Hampshire (2004) et du Vermont (2004) couvrant l’échange de renseignements dans le cadre de l’exécution de la Loi;
  • la tenue des Sommets Québec-New York dans le cadre desquels se rencontrent principalement des gens d’affaires (2002, 2004, 2005, 2008).

L'Europe

Le Québec entretient également de fructueuses relations avec de nombreuses régions européennes, comme la Wallonie, la Flandre, la Bavière, la Catalogne, la Lombardie ou encore plusieurs régions françaises. De telles relations permettent au Québec de s'insérer dans les réseaux de décideurs politiques, économiques, culturels et sociaux, et ce, autant au niveau régional que national et européen. Elles facilitent aussi la constitution d'alliances et de coalitions sur des enjeux importants pour le Québec. Ces relations permettent enfin de susciter des occasions d'affaires pour les entreprises québécoises.

Pays du BRIC et de l'Amérique latine

Les relations bilatérales du Québec avec des États fédérés et régions constituent également une porte d'entrée vers l'Amérique latine et l'Asie. Une entente portant sur le développement des liens d'amitié et des échanges entre le Québec et le Shandong (Chine) a ainsi été signée en 2008. Au Brésil, le Québec noue des relations particulières avec l'État de Sao Paolo où un bureau du Québec a été ouvert en 2008. Au Mexique, trois accords de coopération multisectorielle avec les États de Jalisco (2006), de Guanajuato (2006) et de Nuevo León (2009) ont été signés. Plusieurs activités de collaboration sont réalisées dans les domaines de l'éducation, de la culture, de l'économie et de l'environnement ainsi que de la jeunesse et du tourisme.

Dernière mise à jour : 2017-07-07 15:06:38