Québec's actions in international associations of federated states and regions

The mobilization of new global governance actors

Québec participates in some ten international associations of various kinds representing federated states and regions, including European, North American and global associations as well as thematic (climate change) and general cooperation associations.

Federated states and regions, because of their domestic jurisdictions, not only have a fundamental role to play in the implementation of decisions taken at the international level but also in their preparation because of their detailed knowledge of their territories and civil societies. The United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) estimates, for example, that decisions taken by regional and local authorities can have an impact on 50% to 80% of greenhouse gas emissions.

The growing awareness, notably by international organizations, of the key role played by federated states and regions in the implementation of international agreements has been accompanied by a stronger commitment by federated states and regions to seek and refine solutions to various international problems. The European Union, for example, is giving regions an increasingly important role in shaping and implementing European policies. This action is being driven by the Committee of the Regions of the European Union and by joint policy forums such as the Conference of Regions With Legislative Power where Québec sits as an observer.

From regional associations...

Québec is actively engaged in a number of regional initiatives of the American federated states whose priorities are the diversification of energy sources, the protection of the environment, the fight against climate change and the management of water resources: the Conference of New England Governors and Eastern Canadian Premiers (NEG/ECP) , the Council of Great Lakes Governors, the Great Lakes Commission, the Western Climate Initiative and the Climate Registry. Québec is also a member of multilateral economic forums that bring together companies whose main objectives are to increase trade and encourage technical and scientific collaboration. One of the most important of these is the Southeastern United States-Canadian Provinces Alliance (SEUS-CPA).

... to international associations

Associations of federated states tend to be more than strictly geographical associations, building rather on other affinities. For example, Québec has joined a number of associations where its voice and those of other federated states and regions can be heard in major international conferences on the environment and the fight against climate change. One example is the Alliance of Federated States and Regions of the Climate Group and of nrg4SD (Network of Regional Governments for Sustainable Development), of which Québec was the first North American member.

Other associations have a more specific cooperation mandate. For example, the Northern Forum allows Québec and other governments of northern regions to exchange information and expertise on problems unique to social and economic development in a northern and Arctic context.

Certain associations have a general cooperation objective. This is the case for the Conference of Heads of Government of Partner Regions, (in French only) of which Québec is a co-founder together with Bavaria.

Last update: 2017-07-07 3:07:00 PM

L'action du Québec au sein de regroupements internationaux d'États fédérés et de régions

La mobilisation de nouveaux acteurs de la gouvernance mondiale

Le Québec participe à une dizaine de regroupements internationaux d'États fédérés et de régions de diverses natures : regroupements européens, nord-américains et mondiaux, regroupements de coopération thématiques (comme les changements climatiques) ou généraux.

Les États fédérés et régions, en raison de leurs compétences internes, ont un rôle fondamental à jouer dans la mise en oeuvre de décisions prises au niveau international, mais également dans leur élaboration, en raison de la fine connaissance de leur territoire et de leur société civile. Le Programme des Nations Unies pour le Développement (PNUD) estime, par exemple, que les décisions prises par les autorités régionales et locales peuvent influer sur 50 % à 80 % des émissions de gaz à effet de serre.

La prise de conscience, notamment par les organisations internationales, du rôle clé joué par les États fédérés et les régions dans la mise en oeuvre des accords internationaux, s'est accompagnée de l'engagement croissant de ces derniers dans la recherche et la mise au point de solutions à diverses problématiques internationales. L'Union européenne donne ainsi aux régions une place de plus en plus grande dans la mise en oeuvre et l'élaboration des politiques européennes. Une action qui se dynamise au sein du Comité des Régions de l'Union européenne et autour de forums politiques communs à l'instar de la Conférence des Régions à pouvoir législatif et de où le Québec siège d'ailleurs comme observateur.

Des regroupements régionaux...

Le Québec participe activement à plusieurs initiatives régionales regroupant des États fédérés américains dont les priorités sont la diversification des approvisionnements énergétiques, la protection de l’environnement, la lutte aux changements climatiques et la gestion de l’eau : la Conférence des gouverneurs de la Nouvelle-Angleterre et des premiers ministres de l’Est du Canada (CGNA-PMEC), le Conseil des gouverneurs des Grands Lacs, la Commission des Grands lacs, Western Climate Initiative et le Climate Registry. Le Québec est également membre de forums économiques multilatéraux auxquels participent des entreprises dont les principaux objectifs sont d’accroître les échanges commerciaux et de stimuler la coopération sur les plans technologique et scientifique. Parmi les plus importants, on retrouve l’Alliance des États du sud-est des États-Unis et des provinces canadiennes (SEUS-CP).

... aux regroupements internationaux

Les regroupements d'États fédérés tendent par ailleurs à s'élever au-delà des considérations strictement géographiques et à se rassembler sur la base d'autres affinités. Le Québec a ainsi rejoint plusieurs regroupements lui permettant de faire valoir sa voix, ainsi que celle des États fédérés et des régions, dans les grandes conférences internationales portant sur l'environnement et la lutte aux changements climatiques. On pense ici à l'Alliance des États fédérés et des régions du Climate Group et à nrg4SD (en anglais) (réseau de Gouvernements Régionaux pour un Développement Durable), dont le Québec est le premier membre nord-américain.

D'autres regroupements ont un mandat de coopération plus spécifique : au sein du Northern Forum, le Québec et d'autres gouvernements de régions nordiques échangent informations et expertises sur les problématiques propres au développement social et économique en contexte boréal ou arctique.

Certains regroupements poursuivent un objectif de coopération générale. C'est par exemple le cas de la Conférence des chefs de gouvernement des Régions partenaires, dont le Québec est cofondateur, avec la Bavière.

Dernière mise à jour : 2016-07-13 11:29:38